New Commissioners appointed to the Public Utilities Commission

Public Utilities Commission

Press Release

New Commissioners appointed to the Public Utilities Commission

(Belize City, December 28, 2020): The Public Utilities Commission (PUC) is pleased to announce that the Governor General has appointed the following seven (7) persons as Commissioners with immediate effect:

  • Mr. Dean Molina
  • Mr. Ricardo Nah
  • Mr. Carlo Keith
  • Mr. Arun Hotchandani
  • Mr. David Zabaneh
  • Mr. Mark Menzies
  • Mr. Etienne Sharp


Attorney-at-Law and former Director of Tariffs, Standards and Compliance at the PUC, Dean Molina, has been appointed to the position of Chairman. Mr. Molina succeeds Mr. John Avery who demitted office in December 2020.

“It is an honour to be appointed by the Governor General to such an important role”, Molina said. “I thank the Prime Minister for the trust he has placed in me and I will work to build and enhance the PUC.”

The PUC is an independent, quasi-judicial regulatory body that is responsible for the regulation of the water, energy and telecommunications utilities in Belize. The seven (7) commissioners are dedicated to ensuring that rates charged by utility companies are just and reasonable and that the service provided is safe and reliable.


Contact: Olga Urbina-Gough

Public Relations & Consumer Affairs Officer:

(501)-223-4938 extension 224





Leave a reply